Couch Potato

A tongue-in-cheek musing on moving less in middle age.

 

As I sit and watch the telly,

I’m distracted by my belly;

Crafted out of cake and chips,

Like my massive arse and hips.

I should shift them off the sofa,

Make myself get up and go for

Exercise: a swim, a walk,

The thought of which now makes me balk.

When I was younger I would go out

For a bike ride, not a blow out.

Now I rarely move a limb

It’s no surprise I can’t get slim.

But moving has become much harder

Due to visits to the larder.

Which is where I’m often found

And why I’m getting far more round.

As I sit and read the paper,

I see folks whose figures taper.

I’d just love to be like that

But tasty food has kept me fat.

2 thoughts on “Couch Potato

  1. So funny to read this at a moment when I’m stuck on the couch, stalling on going out to get me some food, eating banana crisps to enable more delay. It’s not that I don’t want food, I really do, but to go out and get it feels as too much of a hassle 😉 Don’t even mention cooking, that’s a no go today.

Leave a Reply

