I Don’t Remember

I don’t remember when my joints seized up,

When my hair turned grey and my wrinkles grew.

It must have happened when my back was turned and I was living life.

 

I don’t remember when my steps grew slow,

When my memory failed and my waist spread out.

It must have happened when my back was turned and I was living life.

 

I don’t remember when my breath grew short,

When my kids grew up and my sight grew dim.

It must have happened when my back was turned and I was living life.

 

I don’t remember when police got young,

When my neck packed in and I craved more naps.

It must have happened when my back was turned and I was living life.

 

I don’t remember when the charts got crap,

When my shoes got flat and phones got weird.

It must have happened when my back was turned and I was living life.

 

I don’t remember turning into my mum,

With Radio 4 on all day long.

It must have happened when my back was turned and I was living life.

 

I don’t remember when I got so old,

When the years flew past and the past pulled back.

Not that it matters because I’m still here and I’ll keep on living life.

2 thoughts on “I Don’t Remember

Leave a Reply

