Poetry Burnout

I’ve had enough of poetry,

It’s really lost its charm for me,

It’s not the fun it used to be

I think I’ll go on strike!

 

I’m sick of making lyrics scan.

I’ll just avoid it when I can.

I wish they’d call a rhyming ban

I think I’ll go on strike!

 

It’s not as though I benefit

From writing any more of it.

It’s almost always really shit!

I think I’ll go on strike!

 

It’s really getting on my wick.

Won’t even write a limerick:

The thought of it just makes me sick,

I think I’ll go on strike!

 

But right now NaPoWriMo’s on,

Oh, how I wish it would be gone.

But when the countdown gets to ‘none’

I think I’ll go on strike!

Leave a Reply

