Good Intentions

If the road to hell is paved with good intentions,

I’m probably approaching halfway there,

Considering the state of my to-do list

And the fact that I’ve become one with the chair.

There’s a cupboard that’s piled high with paint and brushes,

It’s like a mini aisle of B&Q.

And there’s a box full of replacement handles

That I bought in summer, 1992.

I’m full of bright ideas at the beginning,

When I’m watching a design show on TV,

But enthusiasm wanes after the shopping

When I realise the work is up to me.

It isn’t just in DIY I’m lacking.

My health and fitness goals are useless too.

Each Monday sees the start of a new diet

And a set of exercises I won’t do.

For years now I’ve meant to write a novel.

So far I’ve only bought a foolscap pad.

Eventually I’ll go and buy some biros

But I doubt I’ll start that novel.  I’m so bad!

If the road to hell is paved with good intentions,

It’s certain that I’ll make it there one day,

But only if the devil sends a taxi;

I can’t be bothered walking all that way.

3 thoughts on “Good Intentions

Leave a Reply

