Memory Slips

If my memory serves me correctly,

It’ll give me a shock, for a start.

It’s been many years since it’s worked like it should,

A decade or more since you’d say it was good,

I’d be more specific if only I could

But my memory’s falling apart.

 

If my memory served me correctly,

It’d speed up my day, there’s no doubt.

No searching for keys that were still in the door,

No going upstairs and then wond’ring what for,

They’re only examples, I’d tell you loads more

But my memory’s on its way out.

 

If my memory served me correctly,

I’d have a much easier time.

I’d put out the bins and they’d be the right sort,

I’d remember to buy all the things that I ought,

I’d put in this poem the thing I just thought

But forgot while I looked for a rhyme.

2 thoughts on “Memory Slips

Leave a Reply

