Lamplight

There’s a chess piece in my pocket.

There’s a tangle in my hair.

There’s a streetlamp just behind me.

There’s a shiver in the air.

There’s a glass that’s almost empty

And it’s waiting for me there,

But I’m waiting for the clouds to leave the moon.

 

There’s a line I can’t remember.

There’s a time to sing the song.

There’s a mist over the river.

There’s a sense that something’s wrong.

There’s a figure by that window

And it hasn’t been there long,

But I’m waiting for the clouds to leave the moon.

 

There’s a wheel that keeps on spinning.

There’s a hand that moves the wheel.

There’s a line that’s made for crossing.

There’s no telling how you’d feel.

There’s a rope around the gatepost

And that’s how I know it’s real,

But I’m waiting for the clouds to leave the moon.

 

There’s a chess piece in my pocket.

There’s no winner in this game.

There’s a cog that’s lying broken.

There’s a man who’s just the same.

There’s a rumour that he hates you

And he calls you by your name,

But I’m waiting for the clouds to leave the moon.

2 thoughts on “Lamplight

  1. fine rhyme and timing here…. and “There’s a chess piece in my pocket” should be a textbook example of how to rope a reader in.

Leave a Reply

