Divide

Can I build a bridge from here to there?

Piling regrets, missed chances into an arch,

Filling the gaps with careless words or deeds.

How strong would such a structure be?

 

Can I send a scout from here to there?

Testing the ground for soundness under foot,

Laying a trail where I might follow on.

How safe would such a mission be?

 

Can I send my voice from here to there?

Saying the words that hesitation stole,

Seeking an ear wherein they’ll tell their tale.

How clear would such oration be?

 

Can I call you back from there to here?

Just for a day, an hour, like those we had,

Filling the time with laughter and with love.

How sweet would such an instant be?

Leave a Reply

