Topical

I need to stop reading the papers.
I need to stop watching the news.
I ought to block out all the current affairs
And any apps journalists use.
My blood pressure’s making me worry
My stress just continues to rise.
Insomnia plagues me at every turn
But I can’t say that that’s a surprise.
The internet always bombards me
With snippets and items and stuff
About bad politicians and blood-sucking banks
It’s no wonder I’ve just had enough.
It’s not just that it’s often awful.
It’s not that such horrors are rife.
It’s simply not new information.
I’ve been hearing this all of my life!
The problem that’s driving me crazy,
The reason my brain may just burst
Is the lengths that I find I must go to
For my topical tweets to be first.

Leave a Reply

