We Band of Poets

This day is called the feast of Hildegard:

Those that hath reached this day, with thirty poems

Should rest their keyboard when the day is full,            

And rouse them at the death of April.

They that shall live this day, and see old age,

Will yearly on the vigil trawl through WordPress,

And say ‘To-morrow is Saint Hildegard:’

Then will they bore their family with their thirty poems.

And say ‘These poems I finished on St Hildegard’s day.’

The old forget such things as thrill them not,

But shall remember with a great relief

What joys they felt that day: then shall our rhymes,

Familiar to ourselves and to our kin:

By Jimmy the poet, Linda and GingerBill,

Jones the rhyme, Scouser5 and TaxiMum,

Be by their suffering kin freshly remember’d.

These poems shall be forced upon the throng;

And Hildegard’s day shall ne’er go by,

From this day to the ending of the blogs,

But we in it shall be remember’d;

We few, we knackered few, we band of poets;

For those to-day that post their poems with me

Shall be my sibling; be they ne’er so vile,

This day shall end with celebration:

And lazy folk full worldwide now a-bed

Shall probably not care they were not here,

But we can view them smugly as we say

Our thirty poems are done on this saint’s day.

 

I expect you all know that this is a massive liberty, taken with the words of Shakespeare from his ‘St, Crispin’s day speech’ from Henry V. I apologise to the Bard and his many fans for this.  It somehow seemed appropriate for our last day of National Poetry Writing Month which, at times, has been a bit of a battle.  Not quite Agincourt though! 😉

10 thoughts on “We Band of Poets

    • Very apt. I was listening to a programme about the birth of the ‘net this morning as well. Well done to all of us for lasting this long and thank you for dropping in. 🙂

  1. LOL. That is fantastic! When I was in college, we performed Ordo Virtutum, one of Hildegard’s “mystery” (morality) plays. I was Patience. And boy did I need Patience through NaPoWriMo!!! Well done!

  2. 🙂 I wonder if your college role gave you any extra patience. It’s done now, for this year at least. I’m glad we can go back to writing when we feel like but it certainly made me think harder about my poems and I’m happy I did it. Thanks for your comment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

