27th day of non-stop poetry

I’m not going to write a new poem today.

I just can’t be bothered, there’s nothing to say.

There’s nobody reading these things anyway

So I’m not going to write a new poem today.

 

I’m certainly not going to write one with rhyme.

That stuff can take ages, I don’t have the time.

It’s not like a non-rhyming poem’s a crime

So I’m certainly not going to write one with rhyme.

 

I’m not going to pay much attention to metre.

It’s just an obsession with making things neater.

A bit of freestyling can sometimes be sweeter,

So I’m not going to pay much attention to metre.

 

I still don’t know what I could write one about.

A subject is something you can’t do without.

I could go through a dictionary, pick a word out

But I still don’t know what I could write one about.

 

So I don’t think I’ll write a new poem today.

I’m sick of this challenge, I wish it was May.

I might tell NaPoWriMo to F… go away!

So, I don’t think I’ll write a new poem today.

10 thoughts on “27th day of non-stop poetry

  1. I’m absolutely reading this,
    And May is just 3 days away.
    So don’t give up on the challenge just yet.
    Perservere! and keep writing:)

    • 🙂 Thanks for your comment. I was only joking though. I love having an excuse to write every day. ‘I’ll do the dinner in a minute. I need to write my poem!’ Good times!!! 😉

      • I think you are my doppleganger. (If I look up how to spell that, this message will be lost.) If you look at all my poems, you’ll see similar subjects (The Gardener, Excuses, telling NaPoWriMo where to go, but, in my case following along blindly anyway) and patterns–some of mine could have been written by you, some of yours could have been written by me. And your poems scan!!!!! My boyfriend says, disparagingly, that I am obsessed by this challenge; but I, like you, appreciate the excuse to devote a few hours to writing new stuff every day in spite of a million other things to do. Finally, a blog site I want to follow but I can’t for the life of me figure out how to do so. Would you drop me another line and tell me where to go on your blog to find a “follow” button?

      • Hello. I think you’re right; I just skipped over to your blog and I see the parallels! I have followed your blog by clicking a ‘follow’ button that was low down on the right of your page but I see them in different places on different blogs so I don’t know where mine will be. Thanks for your comments though and I look forward to seeing more of your posts. 🙂

  2. I have had this same feeling more than once this month. Thank you for bringing a smile to my face with this! Keep them coming! Dare you continue a poem a day beyond April? I’m going to try…

  3. I won’t try because I don’t want to get OCR (Obsessive Compulsive Rhyming) 😉 and I have actually written extras, even this month, when the mood has taken me so I’ll still write when I feel inspired. I ‘owe’ someone a poem on May 1st but after that I think I’ll do some prose writing. I’m working on other stuff now but I’ll devote more time to it when NaPOWriMo is over. I think we’re all doing brilliantly to still be in it at this point! Go, us!! 😀

Leave a Reply

