The voice in the dark

I thought I heard a call from far away.

But now I think the sound was in my head.

I never hear that voice when it is day,

I only hear it lying in my bed.

I can’t quite tell you what it tried to say.

I’ll tell you how it made me feel instead.

It made me feel I should unfreeze my mind,

And once again return to my own kind.

 

It came to bring a message long ago.

But only managed then to say my name.

It took with it some things I used to know

And left me just a copy of the same.

And now I lie and listen ‘til the glow

Of day comes round, the voice cannot be tame,

Or else I could just summon it with thought

And then its sullen lesson could be taught.

2 thoughts on “The voice in the dark

Leave a Reply

